Page 1 of 1
Memory Leak in program
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:50 am
by Zero3K
After using it to download 20+ videos, the memory usage of it goes up by around 30-40 MBs.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:27 am
by Benjamin
all the memory is not freed in order to create a memory cache.
This way the memory is already allocated and does not need to do it for every access.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:33 am
by Zero3K
A cache for what? I still think that its usage of memory can be improved upon.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:41 am
by Benjamin
the cache is used to not re-allocate the memory
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:18 pm
by Zero3K
I don't understand what that means. I think that if it no longer needs that section of RAM, it should be freed.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:24 pm
by Zero3K
Well, I've been noticing it using 1+ GB of RAM in the past. I REALLY think you should fix it so the memory usage stays the same.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 8:29 am
by LouisM
Is it still happening with the latest
pre-release version?
What's the site you downloaded from? Were you converting several items?
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:29 pm
by Zero3K
Also, I think that the memory it uses when just ran needs to be less. I noticed it taking up 60 MB when it should only take up 20-30 MB.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:54 am
by Benjamin
the memory manager of the application use a cache in order to optimize the future allocations that why you see a large memory allocation in your task manager but it can be freed at any time.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:17 pm
by Zero3K
Why doesn't it get freed then? I notice it staying at 1 or more GB unless I exit it and re-run it.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:17 am
by Benjamin
it is not freed in order to optimize the memory allocation needed by the software, if your system needs more memory it will be freed.
Re: Memory Leak in program
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:16 pm
by Zero3K
Hmm, maybe the memory usage increasing because of the log it is keeping in its cache.